Trust me, I am a doctor

Laurentius

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 13, 2009
Knowhere
Nothing whatever to do with Bushcraft, but I am rather full of myself and of malt whisky this evening.

I successfully defended my doctoral thesis this afternoon, and pending completion of the inevitable revisions, I am a doctor of philosophy now. I know a lot of people like to deride academic success but it is not something that came to me easily and it has taken me eight years to get here. I was somewhat thwarted academically in my younger years and so it means a lot to me now in my sixth decade, sadly my parents, and my uncles and aunts are not there to see it.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Many congratulations :D :approve:

I will quite happily petition the Boss to add Dr. before your name, or PhD after it if you like ?
It's quite an achievement, at any age :)

atb,
M

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Hearty congratulations indeed; adult study is indeed a thing to be encouraged but your achievement at that level must have required a lot of commitment and hard work. Very well done indeed, sir! :)

Mike313

Nomad
Apr 6, 2014
South East
Congratulation! I did my B.Sc degree in my sixth decade so I can appreciate the effort it took to complete your PhD. Would I be out of line to ask the title of your thesis? In the meantime, pour yourself another whisky, you've earned it !

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
They have never handed out doctorates with a pack of cornflakes - so be rightly proud - more so for doing it as a mature student!

Tengu

Jan 10, 2006
Wiltshire
Good on you, I am busy being a mature student, but only for a wee Bdsc...

Dont you get showing me stuff on screens mind; I have sensory issues.

NS40

Nomad
Nov 20, 2011
Scotland
Congratulations. A real achievement and I'll raise a glass of rum in congratulations (like I need an excuse).

Well done, worth all the hard work I'm sure.

hughlle1