Some very basic bushcraft camp questions

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Hey

So I'm just learning the basics, have been watching lots of videos and reading online. I've also been out and made a tarp shelter.

My current gear is just a knife and tarp (plus normal camping gear).

Anyhow my main questions are:

1. How do you locate a safe place to camp and have a fire? I know the obvious stuff about making space around the fire and above, etc, but some people say to avoid certain types of tree incase of heavy wind

2. In wet weather what common types of tinder, kindling and main fuel should I be looking for?

3. I will be taking a lighter, but if I wanted to make a bow drill for fun and try and start a fire that way what types of wood can I use?

4. Lots of people seem to carry axes, but are you allowed to chop down trees in public access woodland?

5. What are the best books out there for foraging and wild edibles?

Thanks very much for your help.

mick91

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 13, 2015
Sunderland
1. Don't place your fire on anywhere with peat, or with a lot of pine needles. Admittedly in my trip photos there are pine needles in the ground but my usual spot has a lined fire pit and I have express permission. Any areas with large trees with obvious dead branches are best avoided in high winds, or at least be aware of them.

2.natural tinder in wet conditions is a toughy, either carry some birch bark, car tail, tinder fungi etc with you or try to find some dry stuff. Keeping damp tinder in your pockets for a few hours can be helpful. Synthetic firefighters work fine in the wet, as does inner tubing, esbit etc. Most of them are waterproof. Firecord is supposedly really good (read quicktoxicgeek and her review of it)