Sevylor Skeg - is it worth it?

Bowlander

Nov 28, 2011
Forest of Bowland
I mainly use my Sevylor Fishhunter on the local canal and the lack of tracking is a bit of pain, especially when my little lad is having a go. Would a Skeg make much of a difference on long straight runs? I'm only a novice paddler and it says on their website its for experienced users only?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
They do make a difference but the inflatables I've used have never tracked very well.

For £10 it's probably worth a punt

oldtimer

Sep 27, 2005
Oxfordshire and Pyrenees-Orientales, France
I found using the skeg a great help with tracking both on the sea and the river. As others have pointed out, inlatables are not the best for keeping a straight line. Like anthing else an inflatable is a compromise and love being able to use mine whenever I park the van near suitable water.

Teepee

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 15, 2010
Northamptonshire
Mines a a bit of a pain without a skeg, I missed it when I didn't put it on. It won't track well even with it, but makes life much easier.

One hard pull on the paddle without it has me 360'ing down the river.

Bowlander

Nov 28, 2011
Forest of Bowland
Being able to park anywhere with the canoe on board is a definite bonus, the last time we were out in it we nipped into the local town afterwards and parked in a multistorey.

chris667

Jan 4, 2012
Derbyshire, UK
I love canoes, and although I'm the least snobby person in the world, this is something I feel quite strongly about. So here's my take on them.