Second bag finished

leaky5

Maker Plus
Jul 8, 2014
Basildon
So my second bag is nearly complete, this one is for me. Just needs one internal seam to be bound, tidy some loose threads and cut the straps to length once I am happy with them.

There are a couple of slightly wonky bits, but I am still learning with this type of construction.

I was going to do a full Coyote Tan bag, but managed to pick so black material up cheap ( I was quite impressed with it, so went back and bought the rest of the roll he had). Then just added some Coyote Tan webbing for a bit of contrast.

It’s a full clam shell and lined with 300d material. It has 1 external pocket, 2 internal zipped and one internal open pocket.

I did not want to much webbing & hardware, so tried to design it to be as versatile as possible. All webbing is only sewn at the edges, so other webbing, clips etc can still be attached if needed.

I will be making up a front pouch and water bottle pouch. Hopefully these will use the existing webbing to connect.

Most of the important hardware is ITW, apart from the side buckles which I wanted to be a bit shorter.

It is approx 45x25x12cm, so roughly 13 litres.

Last edited:

leaky5

Maker Plus
Jul 8, 2014
Basildon
My goodness that's rather good! I can see custom bags becoming a nice little earner for you.

Andy

Thanks Andy and all the others for the comments.

Two problems with selling them. 1/ They are not of a salable quality (just for me and the family for now). 2/ Cost. There is up to £40 of materials in each bag + the time to make them, from experience people don't want to pay the price this sort of thing would have to cost.

leaky5

Maker Plus
Jul 8, 2014
Basildon
Outer case of pocket finished, it is currently blank inside apart from 2 large strips of loop tape on the back and front panels. The next idea is to make some hook backed panels for it.
Not to pleased with the way the opening sits, I am hoping once it has some use it will flatten down a bit.