Oilstones and their effectiveness

CurtisJohnson

Jun 7, 2012
Durham
Hi all,

Just wondered what everyone's opinion on oil stones were. Do you guys think I could get a nice edge on my mora using a stanley honing oilstone?

Cheers,
Curtis

scoops_uk

Nomad
Feb 6, 2005
Jurassic Coast
Oilstones are great if you find one fine enough, most are too coarse for anything but re-grinding, if it feels rough it's probably too rough. I use an old one I sourced from a car boot for my tools (I'm a professional boatbuilder) and it gives a fantastic shaving edge with a bit of practice. Choose one that feels smoothest to the touch and make sure it's flat (I flattened mine using a granite flat surface with wet and dry paper, it took a long time to flatten it, but it's worth the patience.

Scoops

Peter_t

Native
Oct 13, 2007
East Sussex
im a big fan of oilstones and prefer them to japanese waterstones but the quality varies alot. i have a very nice sandy brown colour one (no idear what grit) and it is supurb, then again you can buy these god awfall blue grey things from B&Q and they are terable.

not sure about your stanley, all mine have been bought seccond hand from car boot sales and don't know who made them.
just go for it and see what happens, as long as it is reasonably fine and you use a strop afterwards you should get a good edge:) just use plenty of oil and wipe it clean and re-apply oil as you go, this stops the stone getting clogged which will stop it working propperly.

pete

CurtisJohnson

Jun 7, 2012
Durham
I'm gonna be honest, mines probably one of those really terrible ones from B&Q because my dads a cheapskate ( used to use it for sharpening his chisels years ago :/ ) will it have a break in period, because he only used the coarse side and has barely touched the fine side, so it feels a bit rough. If it needs using more to give the final grit I'll very happily deal with that :)

Cheers for the help guys
Curtis

scoops_uk

Nomad
Feb 6, 2005
Jurassic Coast