Odourless (and natural) deoderants - my experience

thingswelike

Forager
Jun 15, 2007
Peak District
Hi all
At the Delamere meet, there was some discussion of odourless deoderants. I said I'd post something up on here as I've been using them for about 12 years.

My reasons for choosing them are that they are the most natural deoderants in terms of chemicals on the skin, don't block pores and they are vegan, but the discussion at Delamere mentioned hunting because they are odourless and just general use because they don't leave white marks.
Another bonus is that they are lightweight - especially with travel sizes being available (40grms).

All these are crystal-based and the main active ingredient which seems to seperate the good from the average is Potassium Alum

The crystal ones also last and last and last (months if not years) - just be careful not to shatter them as they are then very spikey to apply. I sometimes nail file mine down if I've dropped it.

The last point is that they probably aren't going to be as effective as the best deoderant from Sure, etc, but they are pretty good.

Good solid crystal deoderants which are fairly common in health food stores:
Crystal Spring
http://www.crystalspringltd.co.uk/prodtype.asp?PT_ID=37&strPageHistory=cat

Crystal
http://lemonburst.co.uk/acatalog/Lemonburst_Crystal_Body_Deodorant_12.html

Both myself and my wife found this one (also common) to be next to useless, but maybe different bodies work differently.
One that didn't work for me: Pit Rok
http://www.pitrok.co.uk/cat--PitRok-natural-deodorants--PitRokDeodorants.html

In the past we've tried spray and roll-on versions of thes deoderants, but they haven't been as good (and they don't last very long), but recently we've found one that works really really well - maybe about as good as regular chemical deoderants.
Urtekram Deo Crystal Roll-on
http://www.mariposa-alternative-bodycare.co.uk/index1.html

So there you go - hope it's of use to someone.

Cheers
Alex

dwardo