Trip Report Nordmarka area

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

greg.g

May 20, 2015
birmingham
First of all, forgive me if I ramble a bit, as I have never written a report like this before or uploaded any pictures.
Myself and my wife Alison had been thinking of going on an overseas wildcamping trip for a while now.
On good advice from friends who had already done this, we decided on the Nordmarka area just north of Oslo in Norway. We were also advised that early May would be a good time of year for our first adventure. A good friend lent us some maps and the planning started. We would be hammocking and were told that our gear and knowledge were fine.
Flights were booked from Gatwick to Oslo, then it would be a short train journey into central Oslo where we would need to buy some methylated spirits (rodspirit) and arrange a fishing permit.
We flew out on Saturday 4th May excited and a little bit anxious. It wasn't too long before we were boarding Tbane 5 to Sognsvann Lake. Its only a short walk from the train station to the lake. The lake itself is fairly well used by the people of Oslo. Lots of joggers, and walkers out for a weekend stroll. It was mid afternoon and the temperature was around 1.c. Just got to the lake and it started to hail, so we dived into the woods for shelter..
It only lasted about 20 minutes so we decided to continue on and try and get a bit further from along the lake.
An ok spot was found and so it was time for us to set up camp for the first night.

IMG_0177.JPG

Sognsvann lake first night...
IMG_0175.JPG

We ended up spending 2 nights in this spot. It gave us the chance to explore the area a bit and to scope out our next spot which was going to be on the next lake north Lille Aklungen. With the packs on, I guessed it would be a couple of hour hike.