Nikon DSLRs

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

timf2009

Tenderfoot
Nov 16, 2009
Hamburg Germany
Hi Rob,

I use the D300 which is the same except for the video capability of the D300S.

I've used the D700 as well so let me know your question and I'll try and help

Tim

Rob

Need to contact Admin...
Cheers Guys

I have settled on the D700 as the camera. I keep thinking about leaving the purchase a bit longer incase they do bring out a new model - but considering the state of the workd at the moment, I dont think that they will.

As I am new to Nikon (all my travel cameras are either Fuji or bouncy Olympus) the sticking point at the moment is the choice of lens.

Tim - I am interested to know what lenses you bolted on the front when you tried it.

I am also trying to get some opinions on how well the D700 copes with DX format lenses. I know that there is a drop in pixels, although I know that some lenses will provide full coverage at some focal lengths.

Much appreciated :)

MagiKelly

Making memories since '67
I have a D2x and the lens that almost lives on the front is a DX 18-70 vibration reduction lens. Not as good as some of my other lenses but covers for almost every situation.

Of course a lot of the time I end up using my Olympus point and shoot as with it being water and shock proof it is better for the rough and tumble of being outdoors.

Rebel

Native
Jun 12, 2005
Hertfordshire (UK)
Cheers Guys

I have settled on the D700 as the camera. I keep thinking about leaving the purchase a bit longer incase they do bring out a new model - but considering the state of the workd at the moment, I dont think that they will.

As I am new to Nikon (all my travel cameras are either Fuji or bouncy Olympus) the sticking point at the moment is the choice of lens.