Nikon binoculars

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SOAR

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Can anyone recomend me a set of binoculars I was looking at a pair of Nikon action ex 8x40. Does anyone have any other recomends?

Jambo

Forager
Jul 21, 2007
U.K.
I have a pair of Steiner wildlife pro's, 10x42 iirc.

I'm not a expert, but a great pair of bino's as far as I'm concerned. Really vivid colours and excellent definition.

Porcupine

Forager
Aug 24, 2005
Leek,The Netherlands
8x40 means 8 times magnification with a 40 millimeter diameter lens

for outdoors use in less good lighting conditions (dusk,foggy,overclouded or wooded area) i would get a lower magnification with a bigger frontlens.

i have a bresser 7x50 wich works out good for me. 7 times magnification is good enough for most things and the wide lens means even at evenings you can use them.

in the end it is what you use em for.
bright daylight to see small things that dont move a lot very far out? go for big first number,second number doesnt realy matter.

if things are moving a lot,are closer and lighting is more dodgy go for lower magnification and higher second number.

the bresser was (ten years back when i bought it) the best combination of price,quality and numbers for me.

SOAR

Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Just been looking at the Steiner and Bresser binos they look nice.

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
Go to www.warehouseexpress.com (no connections etc..).
Nikon Sporter models now £89...rrp £199,
Nikon Action model now £49...rrp £119.
I'd go for the sporter binocular 8x36, i've tried these and they're well worth the money.
Tom.

JonnyP

Oct 17, 2005
Cornwall...