My first wood carving clinic! Might be considered pic heavy.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Arya

Settler
May 15, 2013
Norway
I was lucky enough to be able to join a wood carving clinic that lasted a whole week!
The subject was "Dragestil" or "Dragon style" as you might call it in English. It was a dream come true :)
I am a new beginner but I really got my moneys worth in this clinic, and returned home with my head filled with tons of new information!
I was the youngest in the class, but the people were really nice and including, so no problems there. Most of the others had carved a lot from before, except from me and an other guy, but the everyone got individual instructions.
The clinic was held at Raulandsakademiet, in Telemark (Norway) and the teacher was Rune Hjelen.
Nice people, nice location and nice... well, let´s just say that everything was nice. Except from my gained weight from the awesome food and my empty wallet :lmao:

A few photo´s from the clinic:

Rauland1 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr
Telemarkstunet.

Rauland14 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr
My cutest tool!

Rauland13 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr

Rauland10 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr

Rauland8 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr

Rauland3 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr
Dragon, only roughly carved at this stage.

Rauland5 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr
Some light reading material ;)

Rauland9 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr

Rauland2 by Lykketrollet, on Flickr
Beautiful wood carvings on old buildings on the site.

And eventually, the result of my struggles:
Wooden dragon by Lykketrollet, on Flickr

Now my plan is to carve parts of my stable! Hahaha, I´m probably finished in about ten years or so...

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
Congratulations. My start was 4 days = 2 weekends. Then did nothing for at least 2 years.