kuksa final prep

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Pignut

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 9, 2005
Lincolnshire
I have managed to fashon a reasonable kuksa from silver birch (All be it a little small)

It has been sanded and boiled in salt water for about 4 hrs and is now soaking in mineral oil

I pieced this preperation together from various threads on hear and wondered if it sounded anything like correct,

(Or have I just made the worlds most salty firewood?)

As always your help would be much apreciated

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Pignut,
THough I have no direct experience in kuksa making, you are to be congratulated on making one in the first place, and again for treating it in salt water. But the thing that scares me is the "mineral oil" that you have it soaking in. To my mind you need to use an oil that is not going to poison you when you take a sip of your first tipple, something of vegetable origin.

Or have I just put my foot in it if you are using a parafin based product?

:confused:

Ogri the trog

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
I asked Ragnar (from ragweedforge) about this once, this is what he said...

First, I would not use ordinary "boiled" linseed oil from the hardware store. It's not really boiled, but blended with chemicals to speed curing. These chemicals contain heavy metals and are highly toxic.
The traditional finish is raw linseed oil, but it takes a long time to cure. I've seen estimates of a half a year at room temperature.
An advantage of linseed oil is that it penetrated and then hardes.
On items that are not going to be used for food, it's often suggested that you cut the first coat with turpentine to improve penetration.