Knife maker in trouble...

Ph34r

Settler
Feb 2, 2010
Oxfordshire, England
Hi,

I have been doing bushcraft for a few years, but only recently got into knife making. I have previously made a karesuando kit - which recently was lost. I am planning to make a new knife, but have a few problems. I have my design ready, but am not sure what thickness of steel to use. I have a piece of sheet steel off an old (but never used) pollyfiller thing. It is more or less the right size, but only has a 1mm thickness. Is this enough (am guessing not). It does feel quite strong, but am guessing that 3mm is the size to be after.

This leads me onto the question:
Where can I get cheap sheet steel?

apologies for the wall of text,

Ph34r

maddave

Jan 2, 2004
Manchester UK
Moras and the like are always a minimum of 2mm and the Frosts company have been making knives forever, so I'd tend to go with 2mm or above

woodwalker1987

Tenderfoot
Feb 4, 2010
essex
i made a skinning knife from an old putty knife that i just put a wicked edge on and i must say it holds said edge very well! its 1mm thick if that and very bendy, perfect for the job :) maybe something to consider i.e. the use of the blade?

sasquatch

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2008
Northampton
You can get O1 flat ground carbon steel in 3mm x 40mm x 500mm pieces for about £7 from Cromwells, look them up on tinternet and call your nearest one to make sure it's in stock first. If not they'll get it in next day. You could always try the 1mm, I've seen some decent working blades made from saw blades but 3mm is the thinnest I've used. I'm far from a pro but it works for me.

woodwalker1987

Tenderfoot
Feb 4, 2010
essex
cool, i think i'll take that reccomendation too and see if i can turn out a half decent blade, just got access to a grinder so here we go!

dazcon

Nomad
Jan 8, 2010
clydebank