Karrimor Sabre 45 Suggested Enhancements

Agile

Forager
Dec 27, 2006
Bournemouth, Dorset
Hi all,

I am relatively new to the whole outdoor living thing and decided to get a Sabre 45 bergen as it seemed to tick as many of the boxes as possible; something I am not alone in owning! The only drawback so far is that it seems a little small for the amount of cooking pots, axes, knives, hammock, food etc etc which I am currently trying out - I already attach the PLCE side pockets.

I was wondering if there were any components to the PLCE system which I could attach to the bergen to enhance the capacity - I was specifically drawn towards first aid kit attachments, as this allows everyone quick and easy access to my FAK. Any suggestions as to ones I can get which are olive green (I personally hate DPM.) After a quick browse, I managed to locate:

http://www.edirectory.co.uk/pf/880/mia/d/arktis+rear+pouch+set+1736/pid/52787
http://www.meanandgreen.com/army/Arktis/Arktis_1727_Chest-Thigh_Appointments_Pad/820/801.html
http://www.meanandgreen.com/army/Arktis/Arktis_Twin_Side_Pouches/820/784.html

These all look good, but are they compatible - anyone else tried any alternatives?

As an aside, the Sabre 45 is an awesome rucksack, and having dragged it around eastern Europe, I can vouch for its rugged construction, not to mention that it seems to be surprisingly waterproof.

Many thanks!!!

Agile

gregorach

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 15, 2005
Edinburgh
You might find this thread of interest - it shows how I modified my sabre 45 to take the PLCE webbing belt with some additional pouches. I've started using the main webbing yoke with it as well - it gives you much better adjustment and weight distiburtion.

One thing I'd do differently - attach the belt loops the other way around, so the clips are on the outside.

Agile

Forager
Dec 27, 2006
Bournemouth, Dorset