Joining Scouts as an instructor

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire
Hi guys. :)

I'm thinking about, well i've been thinking about joining the scouts to help out as an instructor, i've decided to go ahead with it. I was gonna go as a CI in the air cadets as i was one but apparently they dont do half of the stuff they used to to anymore so i can't be bothered with that.

I know a few of our members are scout leaders and such like so was hoping they could give me some advice about what to expect. I know i need to have a CRB check or whatever they are called now, shouldn't be an issue, as i only have an assault charge against me in the last 10 years.

What can i do if i volunteer? As in, what sort of roles can i perform? obviously i'm skilled enough in bushy stuff to be of use, i have medical training, can make tools etc, i have a good knowledge of many things..... but will i be able to use it and teach it? Will i be of use to the scouts? Is it worth my time? There is a scout troop with their own wood about a 15 mins drive away in Brighouse which is probably where i would go.

I wanna be able to help the kids, but there are selfish reasons too as it gives me more reasons to be out and about doing stuff, more motivation and opportunity if you like. So theres as much in it for me as there there would be for them. I'm just bored and wanna fill some time with something worth doing thats away from knifemaking.

Any advice would be appreciated as i don't know much about scouts as i was never involved with them as a youngster. I want to get my son involved too when he's old enough, he's only 5 atm.

Cheers
Mark :)

John Fenna

Lifetime Member & Maker
Oct 7, 2006
Pembrokeshire
I was a Scout leader for 15 years after initially joining as an Instructor. I also volonteered for the Army Cadets but left when they wanted me to shave my beard (other reasons as well...)