Homemade Water Filter

Pict

Settler
Jan 2, 2005
Central Brazil
clearblogs.com
I made up a short video that describes the simple home made water filter I've been using for the past eight years in Brazil with very good results.

The filter costs about $3 to make. It must be used with a chemical method or boiling to make the water safe. This filter will remove a great deal of suspended material, small organisms, and make the water clearer but it DOES NOT IN ITSELF MAKE THE WATER SAFE TO DRINK. It does greatly increase the effectiveness of either iodine or chlorine and it makes water of questionable quality much better tasting.

Home Made Water Filter

img1648et2.jpg

Mac

BushTucker

Settler
Feb 3, 2007
Weymouth
Hey mac

Love the idea and the video, it is similar to one i worked on last year, but had 3 sections, i used toy stuffing fibre for the 1st, activated charcoal for the 2nd and in the last section was the contects of a water purifier, the jug type you fill at home from the tap.

Nice one

Don

Pict

Settler
Jan 2, 2005
Central Brazil
clearblogs.com
That all depends on what you run through it. If I'm getting water out of clear streams I only change the fiber plug. The charcoal I swap out after maybe 20 - 40 liters but just out of habit.

I have used it with good results repacked with crushed coals from my fire (cold ones). Mac

Chinkapin

Settler
Jan 5, 2009
Kansas USA