Foraging and the Law

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
Following a recent thread, there have been a few requests for a sticky thread on foraging, the law, rights and responsibilities.

Whilst I’m no expert on this, I’ve an interest and I’m happy to collate information gathered from this thread into this first posting, to keep it all handy.

Can we please try and keep this thread as factual as possible, and not go off into big arguments as to what we should or shouldn’t be permitted to do.

Can I also say that, IMHO, the right to gather something doesn’t mean that you should necessarily exercise that right. Please be considerate not only of other humans, but also the other fauna which may depend on what you are picking.

I would also advise, from personal experience, that if you are challenged you should be polite and apologetic and offer to return what you have picked. Your last hour or two may have been wasted, but an apology will often take the anger out of the challenger and may well lead to permission to continue.

The scale of your foraging is also likely to affect how you are perceived. Gathering a tupperware box of blackberries will almost certainly be seen differently to a group of 20 people with huge buckets.

There is also a potential difference between gathering food items and firewood, though I'm not sure if they are legally differentiated. An 'official' may ignore you picking sloes, but challenge you if you were gathering firewood.

To paraphrase from elsewhere on this forum:

British Red said:
1. To be exact section 4 paragraph 3 of the 1968 theft act It states (verbatim)
A person who picks mushrooms growing wild on any land, or who picks flowers,
fruit or foliage from a plant growing wild on any land, does not (although not in possession