equipment list for making a leather sheath

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
B

bushcraftnut

Hi there

This is my first time on here and was wondering if anyone could give me a diffinitive list of equipment to make leather sheaths? even down to the best adhesive / dye etc to use.

Thanks for your help

bushcraftnut

Big John

Nomad
Aug 24, 2005
Surrey
Hi bushcraftnut and welcome to the site,

this one's been done quite a bit in the past, have you done a search through the forums?

Your best place to start will be rapidboy's excellent tutorial here:

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/community/showthread.php?t=9693

this thread should help you out as well:

http://www.bushcraftuk.com/community/showthread.php?t=8885

You'll find plenty of other info if you do a quick search (using the search feature on the toolbar near the top of the page).

Let us know how you get on....

B

bushcraftnut

Thanks John will have a good search now. Will come back and let you know.

bushcraftnut

B

bushcraftnut

Hi
I have done a bit of research and have come up with the following list for starters. Interested to hear anyones comments and the best brand of adhesive to use.
LEATHER 3.5MM SHOULDER VEG TAN
STITCH GROOVER SMALL
OVERSTITCH WHEEL
IMPACT ADHESIVE (best brand?)
AWL HANDLE
AWL BLADE 2"
BEES WAX 30G
SIZE 4 NEEDLES 25
SAND PAPER
ADJUSTABLE STITCH GROOVER
FIEBLINGS PROFFESIONAL OIL DYE 4OZ DK BROWN
KIWI NEUTRAL SHOE POLISH
STANLEY KNIFE
THREAD LINEN 18/3 WHITE 25GM

bushcraftnut

jason01

Need to contact Admin...
Oct 24, 2003
bushcraftnut said:
Hi
I have done a bit of research and have come up with the following list for starters. Interested to hear anyones comments and the best brand of adhesive to use.
LEATHER 3.5MM SHOULDER VEG TAN
STITCH GROOVER SMALL
OVERSTITCH WHEEL
IMPACT ADHESIVE (best brand?)
AWL HANDLE
AWL BLADE 2"