Complete Newb - Wild Camping

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

512Chris

Aug 6, 2018
Melton Mowbray
Hi guys,

Happen to come across a guy on youtube by the name of Joe Robinet and have been completely hooked the last few weeks on bushcraft and wild camping.

A quick google reveals isn't as straight forward to do so in the UK as is in America/Canada.

Is there anywere in the UK (east midlands would be great!) that i would be able to go out, pitch a tent and cook some food over and open fire in a forest (i am aware of the implications of fire + forest) it would be a smallish fire using stones/rocks.

I also have a drone so would be great to go somewere that has a bit of eye candy!

Cheers,
Chris

BJJJ

Native
Sep 3, 2010
North Shropshire
There is a woodland where wild camping is allowed and campfires, look up Beehive bushcraft in Liecestershire. I beilieve the cost per night is about £5. Facilities are very limited. It might suit your needs. It is not a regular campsite. If you use facebook I think there is a dedicated page with all the details.

Laurentius

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 13, 2009
Knowhere
There is a woodland where wild camping is allowed and campfires, look up Beehive bushcraft in Liecestershire. I beilieve the cost per night is about £5. Facilities are very limited. It might suit your needs. It is not a regular campsite. If you use facebook I think there is a dedicated page with all the details.
I am tempted to say that if there is a facility to collect your five pounds then it isn't really wild camping. There is a site in Wales where there is an honesty box to pay for your privelege at the end of Cym Bychan, it is quite remote.

BJJJ

Native
Sep 3, 2010
North Shropshire