centre pin fishing reels

EdS

Anyone got any advise on the set up and use of these.

I found my old ones from when I was a kid (good qualitiy but old) and have decided to have ago. However, I can still only cast about 5 metre and end up wit ha tangle of line as it keeps unspooling which the weight has stopped/hit the ground.

I did hear somewhere that you are ment to sode cast with them. Also are they best with the line coming from the top or bottom of the reel.

tomtom

Dec 9, 2003
Sunny South Devon
I'm not quite sure i understand which type of reel you mean, but if your talking about a multiplier(sp) type on i was always taught to keep my thumb on the line to stop it unspooling/tangleing when you cast or let it sink.. for this i think the line coming from the top of the reel is best. But then i have very little experience whith these types of reel so this may be of no use what so ever.

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
EdS said:
Anyone got any advise on the set up and use of these.

I found my old ones from when I was a kid (good qualitiy but old) and have decided to have ago. However, I can still only cast about 5 metre and end up wit ha tangle of line as it keeps unspooling which the weight has stopped/hit the ground.

I did hear somewhere that you are ment to sode cast with them. Also are they best with the line coming from the top or bottom of the reel.
The best way to cast with a centrepin reel is to strip the line off of the reel first (as you would with fly fishing) and then cast letting the line run smoothly through your fingers, controlling the speed and distance. The centrepin is mainly for storing line, and really should not be used to aid casting. JMHO

Longstrider

Settler
Sep 6, 2005
South Northants
A good quality centerpin, properly set up will cast light tackle well if used correctly. The trick you want to learn is called the Wallis Cast as is explained by this article...
http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/Coarse-Fishing-Articles/wallis_cast.html