Can anyone identify this?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tommy2

Oct 2, 2011
Leeds
Hi all,

I'm new to foraging and what not, would love to get into bushcraft type stuff (although I've never even been camping!!!!!!)

This tree is down the road from me and they look like pears but they are very small and quite hard, only golf ball size, some one has mentioned quince but I've never heard of those before.
Any way here's a pic
56b8273e-af2a-ca40.jpg

Would be really nice if I could use them as there are loads and it just seems a waste.

Cheers

Feb 15, 2011
Elsewhere
Looks like an ornamental or wild pear.....quinces are larger, a rich yellow in colour & have velvety skins.:) they also have a delicious smell.
you could use them to make a jelly ( like crab apple) or a pear cidre :beerchug: but I doubt they would be nice to eat straight off the tree.

Last edited:

Tommy2

Oct 2, 2011
Leeds
I was thinking wild pear cos it at the road side and can't see anyone planting a single pear tree there.

Definately not velvety skin.

Are there any poisonous pears or similar looking things? I would like to try eating one but because I couldn't id it confidently and can't find anything to say there are any poisonous pears.

Cheers

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Open up one of them and have a look at the way the seeds and the seed case lies.

There are no poisonous apples or pears. Some not very tasty to eat ones right enough, but none that are toxic.

Quince have a definite perfumey scent :) If you pick a small bowlful and leave them in a room, they'll scent the whole house with a very gentle, pleasant smell :)

From that photo, they look like some of the little pears, lots of civic planting of little ones or crossed with apple ones. The birds love them and drop the seeds around.

cheers,
Toddy

Toddy

Mod
Mod