Bows!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

torjusg

Native
Aug 10, 2005
Telemark, Norway
livingprimitively.com
Using yew on your first bow could be considered a crime... I would advice that you get some elm, ash or oak to try on first.

If you have never even made a common child's bow, making that first would probably best. Just take a small limb of juniper shape it a little on the thick end, string it and shoot it right away. It will give you an idea of some of the principles.

Snufkin

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 13, 2004
Norfolk
Cawolf said:
I'm a newbie on the bow making topics, I'd like some tips please because I've tried making bows before (I'm only 13) but I'm unsure about the best woods (I've been told it's Yew), lengths and thickness. Thanks for any tips!
Welcome to BCUK mate :) Here is a link to a tutorial by Tim Baker, you probably won't find anyone more knowledgeable than Tim when it comes to wooden bows. The tutorial is for a 45-50lb draw weight bow but for someone your age go for a lower weight (draw weight is the amount of weight it takes to pull the bow to your given draw length (which is the distance you can comfortably draw the bow)). You'll have a shorter drawlength so you could use a shorter stave to make the bow, a general rule is to have the working part of the bow (the bits that are bending) twice as long as your draw length. So as I draw 28" I would build a bow no shorter than 56".
Everyone goes on about yew as the best bow wood but it's only the best wood to build an english warbow with. Get yourself an ash board to start with. Here is a tutorial on board selection.

torjusg

Native
Aug 10, 2005
Telemark, Norway
livingprimitively.com