Bow drill fire - A Complete guide for beginners

CedrikG

Tenderfoot
Aug 6, 2012
Hi guy's,

I am new to the channel and wanted to share that video I made a little while ago. I hope you enjoy it!
Usually I prefer short video but I wanted to make a more complete video on the subject.
[video=youtube;_r4W2Yqw20U]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_r4W2Yqw20U&list=UU9yW33ZesEUd2ZIlNrj8ZQg&index=0&feature=plcp[/video]

Last edited by a moderator:

jackcbr

Native
Sep 25, 2008
Gatwick, UK
www.pickleimages.co.uk
Great little video and your methods certainly work for you. Couple of things I would do differently, but totally agree with the longer drill part. And there's a few points in there that I didn't know and will take with me next time I go out.

Thanks for sharing.

CedrikG

Tenderfoot
Aug 6, 2012
Thanks a lot and please do not hesitate to share what you would do differently ... I always like to learn

jackcbr

Native
Sep 25, 2008
Gatwick, UK
www.pickleimages.co.uk
As I say, different, not saying anything you did was wrong, as you so aptly demonstrated it really works, also not saying what I do is right. I try not to ever let the drill come into contact with the floor to prevent it getting damp. Also I would make a couple of bundles of fine twigs harvested from dead standing trees to get things going once the nest is in flame. and the idea of burning your set once you've got a fire going, I'm guessing you've got good access to a decent size of woodland, which sadly I don't so I've got a set I reuse.

Really like the idea of cutting your set in the tree, much more labour efficient. Encourages me to get out and try a fresh set

lannyman8

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 18, 2009
Dark side of the Moon
Really like the idea of cutting your set in the tree, much more labour efficient. Encourages me to get out and try a fresh set

give it a go Jack, many woods can be used, i have had success with the following...

birch on birch
hazel on birch
hazel on hazel