basket making

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Longbow lad

May 3, 2006
southampton
If you've ever fancied trying willow basket making i can strongly reccomend susie vaughan's book (on amazon) called Handmade Baskets from natures coulurful materials, its really clear and aimed at the complete beginner and is very well illustrated, using the book you will know what material to look for in hedgerows etc, how to collect the material and how to weave baskets step by step. If you use the book and dont go to a class, you can still teach yourself how to make a useful willow basket. ill upload my photos here soon. ive just made my first "hedgerow" basket sucessfully,.. ok so its not a thing of beauty and certainly not as artistic as some in the book but it is a basket and it works, and is now on the kitchen table holding fruit :). Its surprisingly solid, and cost me the grand some of £0.00 to make :D

the book also covers more advanced designs, and using farmed willow and where to source it from etc.

Here's the link:

Handmade Baskets from nature's colourful materials

http://www.amazon.ca/Handmade-Baskets-Natures-Colourful-Materials/dp/0855327553

Synopsis