Advice on bins please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

WULF

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 19, 2012
South Yorkshire
This may be a stupid question but im looking for a new compact pair of binoculars,at the moment i have a pair of opticrons 8x21!
Am i right in thinking that a pair of 8x42 will let you see further???? Im not clued up on bins..

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
You won't see further as the magnification is the same but the image will be clearer and brighter.
The view will be more relaxing on the eyes too.

Have you a particular model in mind?

WULF

Mar 19, 2012
South Yorkshire
Thanks mate,abit clearer for me now.
To be honest i'd love another pair of opticrons but im no expert but only looking to spend £50 or so so im going to struggle.Advice would be appreciated.i want them for spotting in the lakes.

A pair of these maybe,.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/350514353632?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 or

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/140597608941?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

You won't see further as the magnification is the same but the image will be clearer and brighter.
The view will be more relaxing on the eyes too.

Have you a particular model in mind?

Last edited:

Barn Owl

Old Age Punk
Apr 10, 2007
Ayrshire
Further to my pm, the Barr and Stroud will be a good choice.

I've tried some of their models at the country fairs and been impressed.

You want a good field of view,119m is ok.

Keep it to 8x mag', the image shakes a good bit more at 10x, so you'll actually see more through the more stable lower mag'.

Last edited:

WULF

Mar 19, 2012
South Yorkshire
Appreciate your advice tom:You_Rock_:)

Further to my pm, the Barr and Stroud will be a good choice.

I've tried some of their models at the country fairs and been impressed.