Advice needed

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Lynx

Nomad
Jun 5, 2010
Wellingborough, Northants
Hi Fellas. My brother and I plan to ride the Welsh coast to coast in a few months time on mountain bikes; probably in May. We wish to travel minimalistic and so we plan to take a tarp and either a bivi bag or hammock plus whatever other kit we might need. The plan is to find a quiet wooded spot along the way to stop over each night. I have never done any of this before and so I'm looking for advice on essential but minimum kit to take including a suitable tarp and hammock/Bivi. What do you all suggest?

Last edited:

Gaudette

Aug 24, 2012
Cambs
There will be loads of opinions on this. But first things first. The thing that struck me was that you'd never done this before. My immediate thought was keep,away from tarps hammocks etc, keep it simple with a two man tent two mats two sleeping bags. However, tarps hammocks are the best way in my opinion,to enjoy the outdoors. If you go down this route I would say a larger tarp the better. It gives you a lot more options for setting up different configurations, which you may need as you are travelling each day. Whatever you choose make sure you practice setting it up before you go. When you are travelling make sure you leave enough light to find a suitable site and set up. Nothing worse than trying to find somewhere suitable in fading light. I could go on and on but there are a couple of things to be going on with. One final thing whatever set up you choose ensure it will withstand the worst weather you can expect particularly as you are on the coast in May.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Lynx

Nomad
Jun 5, 2010