Advice about wood types please

Baggy

Settler
Oct 22, 2009
Essex, UK
www.markbaigent.co.uk
Hi all

I have access to some woods and I now have some sharp things, including a beautiful Ben Orford spoon knife, so I am trying to work out what to do with each wood. I am new to all wood work and I am happy to give most things a try.

The first is some felled/trimmed oak of about 2" in diameter to 4" in diameter.

The second is blackthorn, still standing, a couple of inches in diameter

The third is birch still standing but I can take smaller trees down and later in the year I will have access to large birch when it is felled.

I am assuming spoon carving for the birch, but I am not sure what to try with the oak and blackthorn, although tent pegs came to mind.

I wondered what you would use the wood for?

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Stick to the birch or find some willow to start with, they'll be the easiest woods to carve.
At the other end of the scale, oak and blackthorn will be like trying to carve iron in comparrison, not impossible but very hard work for a beginner.

ATB

Ogri the trog

Ray Britton

Nomad
Jun 2, 2010
Bristol
Hi.
It seems you do not have ideal woods available for your spoon knife.

If you are thinking of making spoons then lime wood is ideal. It is easy to carve and has natural antiseptic properties, which would be massively useful out in the field.

As you say, the oak would be good for tent pegs, or other items which need to be strong, yet also have a good resistance to rotting.

The last thing I carved in oak was a handle for my knife. It was great to work on it with power tools, but pretty hard with only hand tools. I did plan to make a Kuska out of the same oak tree, but my spoon carving knife would not even touch it.

Baggy

Settler
Oct 22, 2009
Essex, UK
www.markbaigent.co.uk
Hi all