A Simple Sling chair

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Hog On Ice

Nomad
Oct 19, 2012
Virginia, USA
A couple years ago I started playing with variations on the classic tripod based bushcraft chair - the basic idea was to replace the tripod part with an attachment to a tree in much the same way as a hammock is attached to a tree and then to tie relatively short sticks (props) to the front stick to push the fabric sling away from the tree. Anyways after a fair bit of playing around I came up with a chair that is rather comfortable and is somewhat easy to adjust for different settings of the chair back incline.

I am not planning on selling or trading this chair but if someone wants to make it as a DIY project I am willing to help as best as I can over the net. Personally I think the chair is simple enough that anyone who can do a bit of sewing can make one or even as seen with some of the other adaptations of the tripod based chair just use the same sort of fabric seat that it uses.

The first pic shows the fabric seat and the cut sticks that will make up the bulk of the chair - the fabric seat is a piece of ripstop nylon cut size 55 inches by 26 inches with a half inch rolled hem all the way around with a 5 inch channel on the front/bottom edge and a fan folded gathered and constrictor tied end for the top/back edge. There is one fairly strong stick, 25 inch, for the front channel, two prop sticks about 30 inch, and two stakes for the antislip lines:

attachment.php