Insect I.D Help?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Forest fella

Jul 2, 2008
Gloucestershire
Evening, Earlier a cricket or grasshopper with an orangy? Body/Legs landed on my mum while she was getting the washing in off the line and she told me that she'd never seen one of them before, So I've Googled it and cam up with nothing that match's, any tip's or Pic's Welcomed.
Cheer's

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Soldier Beetle ?
They do fly.

https://www.naturespot.org.uk/species/common-red-soldier-beetle

med-Rhagonycha%20fulva1_Coss_8Jul10.jpg

Woody girl

Mar 31, 2018
Exmoor
I get similar looking beetles on my lillys. So it might be a lilly beetle. I'm not good at insects so I could be wrong. (Probably will be) :)

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
I get similar looking beetles on my lillys. So it might be a lilly beetle. I'm not good at insects so I could be wrong. (Probably will be) :)

I had those on my lilies too for a couple of years. They were awfully red looking though, not really 'orange' though.

Woody girl

Mar 31, 2018
Exmoor
Ha ha. I knew I'd be wrong and someone would put me right ! :) :). Does look a bit like a lilly beetle tho.
I've never studied them closely. Maybe next time I get one I should. I'm a butterfly and bee person. Not that I know too much about them either, but I do enjoy watching them so much even if I can't identify them

Reactions: Toddy

Forest fella

Jul 2, 2008
Gloucestershire
I've just showed those pic's / site's to the boss soz my mum and she say's nope none of them,it had orange legs. And she's lived in this neck of the woods 67yrs and it's a new one to her. Maybe a cross breed or an invader?.
cheer's tho

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk