Broken day pack zip.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Woody girl

Mar 31, 2018
Exmoor
I have a favourite day pack that I have been using for many years. Still in good condition and comfy. Unfortunately one by one the zips have lost the pull tags untill today the main compartment zip tag also parted company with the slider. The slider is still there but the metal loop that holds the puller to the slider has snapped off so I can no longer attach a replacement puller to the slider. Short of replacing the whole zip, is there a solution out there? I realy don't want to throw this lovely bag away. I can't really afford to replace it and it's not made anymore anyway. I love this bag and would love to keep using it but the zips are now very hard to operate without the pullers. Any ideas greatfuly received.

Jan 13, 2018
Rural Lincolnshire
I have had the same problem.
You will probably find there is a bit of a 'hook' left where the 'loop' has broken off - take one of the 'string' zip pullers (that you use to make pulling the zip-tag easier) 11p for 10 on Amazon (inc P&P).

Try supergluing it into the remaining 'hook', it may work or it may not.
If it doesn't try the same with araldite - that 'surrounds' the string and locks it in, whilst the superglue just sticks the surface to surface and is a bit 'brittle' - IF the super glue does 'get it' OK then it works, if not try the araldite.

Once glued, try pulling the zip from as low as possible against (parallel to) the zip so you are pulling into the 'broken hook' rather than pulling the string out of the hook.

Not a very good description but hopefully you understand.

Reactions: Woody girl

Woody girl

Mar 31, 2018
Exmoor