Where to go?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Sep 11, 2005
Hi all,

Newbie here, but the forum looks cool :)

I don't have much experience, but I'd like to go somewhere with a couple of friends, I was thinking Scotland. It has to be easy to get to by train, (driving isn't possible :( )
and an area where we can set up tent/camp no more than 6/7 hours walk away from the station, and not too harsh, as we don't have too much experience, so can't be 'too' far away from civilization at the moment.

If anyone knows where we could go, set up a small camp fire, cook some food, sleep for a couple of nights, that would be great!

Thanks.

ilovemybed

Settler
Jul 18, 2005
Prague
Aviemore is a good place to start looking, or Fort William. Good train links (well, Train links) and plenty of walks and camping places to be found. Both towns are tourist and hillwalker friendly too. Might as well hit Ben Nevis if you go to Fort William. It's practically in their back gardens!

Sep 11, 2005
ahh, good point!

I'd be travelling from either Liverpool, or Manchester....either of them is fine to get to.

ilovemybed- I'll have a look at the places you said, and see what they're like :)

Thanks!

jdlenton

Dec 14, 2004
Northampton
Now then that’s better,:) from where you are and that you say you’re not too experienced I would suggest

1. You take a stove and a portable bbq and have an open fire as a bonus if you find a site that will let you have a fire if not the bbq will have to do and you can always put a bit of wood on it to keep it going.;)

2. The Lakes, The Dales, North Wales, are not too far from you and there are some lovely places to stop, campsites and wild camps .[I’m not going to encourage you to brake the law or the mods will tell me off so I won't mention anymore wild camping]:rolleyes: