What steel for bushy knives?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Fat Rog

Forager
Sep 30, 2012
Rotherham, S. Yorks
Hi guys, I'd like to have a go at making myself a couple of knives on a home made forge. I'd like to make a decent sized bowie (about an 8" or so blade) and a smaller skinning knife to go with it. Having never tried anything like this before I'm obviously going to stay away from stuff like damascus or 440C, but I'd like something that wont rust or stain too fast. So what kind of steel should I start off with, bearing in mind my complete lack of experience and proper equipment? Everyone has opinions on what the best steel for a knife is, but what is the best for a total novice?

I did try to join the British Blades forum, but they never sent me an activation email so I can't post questions on there :(

Jul 12, 2012
Liverpool
I would start by making a smaller blade to start with, something in the 3in range should do it no sense in running before you can walk so to speak.

I would also check your spam folder to see if the activation email has gone in there or emailing britishblades.com@domainprivacygroup.com the owner is using who is protection so I can't give you direct contact details but that will get to the owner's / admins in the same way. They should be able to resend the email if it didn't get sent in some way.

spandit

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK
Old leaf spring is good to practice on as it's cheap (free, ideally) or you can buy O1 tool steel from Cromwell which is used in a lot of high end knives and has known properties for heat treating etc.

DaveBromley

May 17, 2010
Manchester, England