Trekking in winter

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ianmbetts

Nov 2, 2022
Ireland
I am planning a week of treking in the new year, hopefully the Slieve Bloom Way, in Ireland where live.

Id welcome any tips on treking in winter.

I am happy enough treking in the summer, I did Offas Dyke back in 1976. I am also happy enough with day hikes in winter ice and snow after having spent the 90s living in Scotland with the mountains on my doorstep.

What I have never done before is treking in winter, so in preparation for this adventure I have been testing out some of the gear on day trips and in the Garden.

The current cold snap provided an ideal opportunity to test the sleep system. It's a UK army modular setup and I spent the night under canvas this week at -6c , and was snug as a bug, so great success there.

What I did not bargain for was that the tent was stiff as a board with frost and ice. I am really unsure how to proceed with breaking camp in such a scenario. Since its in the garden I've left it up, but as it's shaded it's actually not really thawed yet.

Obviously this would be a problem treking when you are targeting to cover a good distance each day, you don't want to be held up waiting for a tent to thaw.

Any tips on how to break camp and still have a serviceable dry tent to re erect at the end of the day ?

Erbswurst

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 5, 2018
Berlin
If you use a cotton tent around the freezing point you simply need a fire to heat and dry it. Or you integrate it into your clothing system, like for example the polish army tent is two cloaks or the triangular Wehrmacht tent sheet was a camouflage rain jacket and winstopper.
Totally outdated though.