The New Forest

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bilko

Settler
May 16, 2005
SE london
I have anuall leave comming up in late October and i thought it might be fun to spend a few days camping ala bushcraft in the new forest.
Does anyone know about right of way and freedoms in the forest?
Things i should look out for and stay clear of?
How big is it?
Is it full of nutters lol?
Can one just go along and live so to speak?
Any realy bushcrafty info on the forest?
Can you think of somewhere better suited to walk into and find wood for a week long shelter?
Etc etc.
Sorry about the eweeping questions but i have no experience with this place and google just brings up hotels when i want swampy ( well sort of, you know what i mean lol ) .

rich59

Maker
Aug 28, 2005
London
I understand that it is illegal to camp in the New Forest outside of designated camp sites. Is that correct folks?

Is there a list somewhere of areas in the UK that it is permitted to camp outside of designated camp sites? I remember doing a 3 day hike on Dartmoor as a scout many years ago.

bilko said:
Thanks for that goose.
I won't start moaning about not being able to camp unless in a designated site.
Maybe i should look at dartmoor or somewhere else. Doesn't have the same apeal about it though :(