Hello from a new spoonmaker in West Wales.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 28, 2024
West Wales
I'm a long time woodworker of the cabinetmaking kind - with some past experience in green woodworking making ladderback chairs, swills, hurdles and stools - new to carving spoons but with a hope to expand this into general carving over time. I've been at the spoons for about 6 weeks.

I'm retired for 18 years now, with a range of other pastimes & hobbies including cycling, forest & fell walking with the dogs, swimming and (of course) various kinds of woodworking. I live near Lampeter in West Wales, although I was born & bred a geordie in South Tyneside before spending 50 years in NW England around Lancaster, moving to West Wales five years ago.

So far I've carved 15 items - spoons, butter knives, spatulas and a ladle, all as practice pieces to acquire the axe and knife skills, using goat willow cut in the garden. I have a local friend who is more experienced in spoon carving who teaches me these skills one evening a week in exchange for cake and tea.

Naturally all this is an excuse to acquire more man-toys of the tool ilk - so far the inexpensive basic type ..... but I have a list of others "for the future". ...... :)

Looking forward to learning a lot more here, especially about various green timbers and their qualities but also about various other bushcraft stuff.

demented dale

Dec 16, 2021
hell
I'm a long time woodworker of the cabinetmaking kind - with some past experience in green woodworking making ladderback chairs, swills, hurdles and stools - new to carving spoons but with a hope to expand this into general carving over time. I've been at the spoons for about 6 weeks.