Re-handling a clipper.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

David.s

Forager
Jan 27, 2007
Glasgow
www.myspace.com_evil_scrappy
Hi guys, when i was out the other week my mate managed to smash a chunk of my handle whilst splitting some small logs.

anyway, iv had a search for how to so this but no luck, iv got the handle of no problem, basically im just wanting a simple wooden handle.

Im a total novice and have never tried anything like this before, so i have no idea what/where kind of wood to get, how to attach it to the half tang(tang is about my limit of blade knowledge)

any help much appreciated.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
If it's a short tang, you may need to weld a stick tang onto it to be able to make a strong handle. Basically, I'd gift it to a hobby maker on BB or here to turn into something decent, and buy another one. They're cheap enough.

Unless you have the skills and kit to do it yourself, in which case, good luck amd post your photos at the end!

nitram55

Forager
Feb 24, 2006
Tamworth Staffs
I have rehandled my frosts after breaking the original handle.

The only thing I had on hand at the time was an old hatchet handle so I cut a suitable length drilled it for the tang and fixed it together with two part epoxy.

It is not quite straight and will never win a beauty contest but it has held up ok so far.

I would say have a go at it, after all if you make a complete pigs ear of it you have not really lost anything and if works out you will have your own personalized frost:) .

Martin

David.s

Forager
Jan 27, 2007
Glasgow
Hi guys, thanks again for the links pretty usefull, i do quite fancy giving it a go my self, i would like to think im a decent enough craftsman lol,