Need a snare that kills a rabbit quickly

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
L

learnin2hunt

Hi, everyone, can anyone advise me? I need to catch rabbits for food for me and my dog. A while back I used to shoot them, but sold my rifle and now can't afford another one. I was a good shot and always killed them so stone-dead they didn't even squeak. That was the way I killed, never want to cause suffering of any kind.
Now I will have to use snares. I've never used snares before, am learning about how to set them, what wire to use, etc, but from my research into this, I don't like the sound of the snares I'm hearing about. It sounds to me like they trap the rabbit by the neck, maybe not killing it. Now I'd check my snares obviously 1st thing (before the crows!) middle of the day, and in the evening when the sun's gone down. But even so, I don't like the thought of some rabbit being half (but not quite) strangled while waiting for me to come and kill it, even a half hour!
So, does anyone know of a snare that is as near to 100% deadly as you can get? And fast.

If I can't be sure it'll work well, I'm not going to use a snare, and will have to become a tree-hugging veggie....(dog won't like that)

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK
No such thing as a fast deadly snare if you want to comply with UK law. There is suffering and you can catch other animals you didn't intend to. If you want to catch rabbits efficiently and legally, you need to shoot them and obviously obtain the landowners permission too.

If you need food that badly. Cancel your ISP agreement and sell your PC to fund your rifle.

L

learnin2hunt

That's probably going to have to be the next move (cancelling the ISP etc....things are getting that bad) Anyway thank you for your reply. It's decided it. I'm not going to use a snare.