camping advice this weekend.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

RAPPLEBY2000

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 2, 2003
England
is it too cold for my hennassey?

i have seen the hennassey website on cold weather camping, but i don't seem to have the right kit, am i likely to suffer this weekend with cold, i have no experience with my hennassey would it be better for me to wait untill warmer weather? :?:

my possible kit options are this:
Hennasey hammock/tarp.
MOD basha.
MOD rollmat.
3/4 therm-a-rest.
TNF cat's mieow sleeping bag, (3 season) down to -7.

i also have these but ideally i don't want to take them:
full length copy therm-a-rest with a slow puncture.
a real full length therm-a-rest 1" thick (very bulky! dosen't fold).
Radar bivibag(breathable but not as good as Goretex ).
U.S. army poncho and liner.
Inner and outer Buffallo sleeping system(too heavy/bulky).

(for the sake of argument i don't mind wearing in clothing in my sleeping bag)

Which are my best kit options without buying anything this weekend? :pack:

jamesdevine

Settler
Dec 22, 2003
Skerries, Co. Dublin
I used mine in the Mourne's in November in the snow. It wasn't below zero but it was Cold outside.

I had a cheap 3 season bag, Foam mat, M65 jacket and liner and my cloths on and I slept the whole night through.

I would suggest you bring the poncho liner to but under the thermaret or between you and your sleeping bag (I used the jacket and liner) to stop any cold spots if you move off the mat and another trick I find as my bum gets cold is to but your gloves/woolly hat under it as extra insulation.

It's up to you really but you could be cold either way. I'd take the risk after you check the forcast.

Just my thought
James

Adi007

Sep 3, 2003