[b]wow[/b], what a great site! at last!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

RAPPLEBY2000

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 2, 2003
England
:-D
hey This is the site i've been looking for for years!

ok about me,

i am presently a student on "Diploma of outdoor activities" (college of west anglia). anyone that loves outdoor sports should do it!

previously i had worked in two outdoor shops: "Blacks" and "outdoors(scout shop)" both in Norwich.

i have been into survival(or should i call it bush craft?) for most of my life i went through scouts and eventually joined the TA to see what it was like, but it turned out i passed the grade but it wasn't for me.

after my course i will hope to find a outdoor activity instructing job.

i am 30 years old
i am married and have a 2 year old boy

both my son and wife enjoy camping and walking.

it's really nice to find a "survival" site without paranoia! :lol:

chears

boaty

Nomad
Sep 29, 2003
Bradford, W. Yorks
www.comp.brad.ac.uk
RAPPLEBY2000 said:

Welcome, and what a good point! Bushcraft seems (to a newcomer) to be all about embracing nature and working with it, while survival has connotations of a titanic struggle to overcome the elements (and those who are out to get you :roll: ) and return to "civilisation"

bothyman

Settler
Nov 19, 2003
Sutherland. Scotland.
boaty said:
RAPPLEBY2000 said:

Welcome, and what a good point! Bushcraft seems (to a newcomer) to be all about embracing nature and working with it,

Well I have got to admit that is what I thought it was.
I prefer the word "Woodcraft" but this seems to have been hijacked by everyone who does anything with wood.
Much like the word "Bivvy" which now seems to mean a Fisherman's Tent.
Survival to me is being in a situation you don't really want to be in and living through it.