UK Permethrine Source?

Jaeger

Dec 3, 2014
United Kingdom
Aye Up All,

Does anyone know of a UK source for Permethrine at a reasonable percentage (and price!) i.e. 10%, for own dilution?

Some of the commercial brands of inspect repellent with a 1% content are just too pricey.

Thanks

Jaeger

Dec 3, 2014
United Kingdom
Hello Janne,

Thanks for the reply.

It could be my spelling of it - Permethrine as opposed to Permethrin which has caused confusion (although I think that there is only one product by that pronunciation no matter how you spell it) but I have been using 'it' for many years as the active ingredient in products designed for use on clothing and intended to keep insects at bay.

I spend a lot of time in deer woodland, frequently right in amongst the 'green stuff' and/or leaf litter and for protracted periods as opposed to just passing through, so I pay great attention to protection against tick bites.

Up until last year I was using a product with about 1.5% which I had purchased some time back. Recently I have only been able to find it in the Life Systems EX4 Antimosquito product at .49% which seems pretty low to me.

I did try to purchase a product advertised specifically for the task @10% (for dilution) from the US via Ebabe last year but without success (probably due to some EU over-kill importation law!).

Have I got a bad case of head lice? - No, no case at all.

Have I seen the effects of Lymes disease? - Yes, at close hand.

Anyone know of a (cheap) source for Permethrin(e) in the UK at a decent strength for dilution? :)

Janne

Sent off - Not allowed to play
Feb 10, 2016
Grand Cayman, Norway, Sweden
Www.domyownpestcontrol.com
36.8%.
But the shop is in the US so I do not know if they send outside.

Yes, we have had Lyme's in Sweden for decades unfortunately. I protected myself by smearing the Swedish Army insect repellant on all exposed and potentially exposed skin ( head incl hair, neck, arms and legs).