teaching and group leader qualifications

philaw

Settler
Nov 27, 2004
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK.
I'm planning on being a teacher, and I want to be able to offer a bit more than just the stuff in the classroom. Could anyone suggest good courses that I could do in teaching bushcraft to youngsters, or a sort of group leader certificate for taking kids hiking and camping?

I've checked local colleges and found little. I'll probably check with the local scouts next, but any tips would be welcome. I know there are loads of scout leader on here.

maverix

Forager
May 16, 2005
North Devon coast
I would suggest the MLTA (Mountain Leader Training Association) woggle(Walking Group Leader Award) course. plenty of info on that here: CLICK

Though to my knowledge it doesnt cover camping, wheras the Mountain Leader syllabus does touch on wild camping.

S

Siecroz

Hello there,

I am a Detachment Commander and instructor in the Army Cadet Force working with Kids from 12 to 18 years old.

I don't know about the Bushcraft side as I am not aware of any formal qualifications in Bushcraft. If there are I too would be interested, however, from the working with Children aspect:

When Kids are involved it can get complicated... so be careful!!

One thing you will need to work with young people will be a Criminal Records Bureau Check (CRB). And this usually needs to be done through an organisation of some kind.

There will also be all sorts of liability insurances, parental consent and risk assessments involved too. Not to mention dealing with and ensuring that you work within the legeslation of the Childrens Act.

If you are going through a Youth Organisation, or educational authority, you will no doubt have all the legalities and formal training on these matters in place.

There are some formal qualifications for Hiking/Walking that you need to be able to take kids walking on the hills. The best place for this information is on the British Mountaineering Council's website: