Seafood foraging - crabbing, razor clams

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Dec 19, 2011
United Kingdom
HI ladies and gents.
I am new to all of this outdoor malarkey, but having seen a few TV programs about foraging, have been inspired.

I would be very interested in learning how to go crabbing and finding cockles and razor clams.

I live in kent, and was hoping you may have some recommendations on where to go, and any permissions i may need.

Many thanks

yomperalex

Nomad
Jan 22, 2011
Reading
My limited experience on razor clams

• Best at low tide, preferably a neap tide that is lower than normal;
  • Tread lightly so they don't sense you;
  • Look for a keyhole shaped hole, the old fashioned type of 2 wholes connected by a slot O===O;
  • Sprinkle some salt and then squirt some water to simulate the returning tide;
  • when it appears grip firmly but don't pull, wait for the clam to tire from trying to pull itself back down;
  • When the clam tires (quite easy to tell) just pull it out and stick it in your bucket.
The really difficult bit is telling which beaches are worth bothering with.

Good luck.

Alex

xylaria

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)