Research topic - can you help

B

Braidwoman

Hello all,
I'm writing a report on the slit-braided leather armband from the Iron Age. It's one of those things that is best investigated by doing it, and so far I have made several versions in veg-tan leather, which has been really interesting; I now know how long the original piece was, for a start, and also the width of the two components, the length of the slits and how far apart they are.

The problem I have is with the leather I'm using. The original has been identified as bovine, and the thickness of the strips used is around 3mm, which makes it full-thickness, from an adult cow; in veg-tanned cow leather, that is pretty stiff, although I braid it wet, and it turns out looking, in shape at least, pretty much like the original. I've pulled it through a hole in some wood a few times, like wire, and made it a bit more flexible, but it's still a tough item. I have no experience of brain-tanned, fat-tanned or smoked (or a combination) cowhide, which is most probably what it would have been in the Iron Age, and I'd like to know if the same braid in that sort of leather would feel and act differently (might it be stretchier, for example? The finished armband seems a bit too tight a fit) so I thought of this forum and the wide and varied experience of it's members!