Plant / Tree ID

Paul_B

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 14, 2008
Cumbria
Probably been asked before but since trying needle tea recently (scots pine) and liking it I have checked out the collins gem SAS survival book and spotted the medicinal plants in it. I was looking to see if it had other plants, leaves, bark, etc. that could be used for tea. The book gives some drawings of medicinal plants but not good enough to ID. If possible I'd like handy guides to ID trees and plants, ones that make it really easy to ID things as I am a newbie to it.

I'd quite like to get into the foraging side of things but as I'm new to it without good ID books that can be carried to check I'd be at a loss as to what is what. Also any foraging books out there? Especially ones that might give medicinal plants or plants useful for other than just eating. I'm quite interested in plants good for intestinal complaints as I've tried a shop bought bark infusion before that kind of worked so I reckon there must be something you can find in UK good for that too.

Sorry if it has been in threads before but I can never find anything good with search functions on sites for some reason.

Geoff Dann

Native
Sep 15, 2010
Sussex
www.geoffdann.co.uk
Best book for foraging plants information is Miles Irving's "The Forager Handbook." It is totally useless as an identification guide though, because the pictures are black and white, and generally not very good.

Unfortunately there are no shortcuts to being able to identify everything you find, or for finding what you want to find. It's not easy. You have to do it a bit at a time - one species at a time. And you'll need several books. You have to do what botanists do: try to narrow down the group, the genus, then the species.

Mar 15, 2011
on the heather
Richard Mabey.
Food for Free.