Pakaged rations, home-made

BlueTrain

Nomad
Jul 13, 2005
Near Washington, D.C.
This may not belong in this section because when you see the word rations, you don't think "lovely grub."

This is another tale of something I've thought of doing but never got around to following through on. It occurred to me that it might make sense to make up your own ration packs for overnight outings. That way, when you go, you just grab one and stuff it in your pack (with all the other things you take), fill up your water bottles and go. Naturally, as with many bright ideas I have, I never did anything.

The basic idea is to put together a selection of food items for one day's consumption, just like a 24-hour ration pack, which is where the idea came from.

Anyone ever do anything like this?

oldtimer

Sep 27, 2005
Oxfordshire and Pyrenees-Orientales, France
I've been doing this for forty years. It avoids wastage, carrying unused food and saves on weight.It also means you can follow personal preferences and use readily available supermarket food. You can buy large packs and re-package into day sized portions.

Paul Kirtley has written an excellent article on this in his blog that includes a follow up with a breakdown on nutrition. All you need to know is there. (paulkirtley.co.uk)

I package into a ziplock bag what I know I will need for three meals plus snacks. it goes something like this:

Breakfast: 2 coffee sachets, one portion of oatmeal in a pour and store bag with dried milk powder and brown sugar.
Lunch: Ready-wrapped cheese such as bon-bel (Tastes waxy and bland, but doesn't go off) OR dried sausage and pack of oatmeal biscuits.
Dinner: 2 tea bags, a freeze-dried ready meal+ padding such as noodles. OR pack of tuna with pasta OR dried sausage eg chorizo with portion of dried mashed potato in a pour and store bag. OR couscous with jerky. OR look what we found products with dried mash.