Legality of picking wild things.

Nagual

Native
Jun 5, 2007
Argyll
It came up in another thread, about the legality of picking wild flowers. I'm no expert, but have found these few sources to be of guidance. It boils down to yes you can pick most things but not some, as they are protected. You cannot up root anything without permission, and then only if you're allowed by law. Anyway enough of me and to the quotes:

Scottish National Heritage said:
It is a crime to:

* uproot any wild plant, unless this is accidental or permission has been given by the owner or occupier of the land;
* pick or destroy a specially protected plant;
* possess one of these specially protected plants or any part of them or to advertise them for sale.

It is crime to uproot any wild plant, unless permission has been given by the owner or occupier of the land, or the uprooting occurred accidentally. There is a list of over 150 specially protected plants , which includes mosses, algae and lichens as well as flowering plants. It is a crime to pick or damage these listed plants in any way, unless this happens as the incidental and unavoidable result of an otherwise lawful activity and you have not been reckless in carrying this out. It is also a crime to possess one of these specially protected plants or any part of them or to advertise them for sale and so, as with protected animals, you should ensure that you have evidence of how you came by them if you chose to own them. There are four species protected as European Protected Species . A further list of species are protected against excessive exploitation.

The bluebell, or wild hyacinth, is currently protected only against sale to prevent the unsustainable harvesting of bulbs from woodland. It is expected that sale will be permitted under a scheme to license reputable growers and so enable gardeners to legally obtain this attractive native species.

PNLD said:
Question

Q641
Can I pick wild flowers growing at the side of the road?
Answer