Leather embossing

Wilderbeast

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 9, 2008
Essex-Cardiff
Hi all,

I want to get my cartridge bag and shotgun slip embossed with my initials and I was wondering if anyone had any advice about how I would do that? I've never done it before so I'd like to know how difficult it would be and if it's too difficult, could anyone on here do it for me?

Kind Regards,

Will

g4ghb

Sep 21, 2005
Wiltshire
Depends on the leather Will. For a decent emboss you need it to be veg tanned as chrome tanned leather is 'hard' and not easily malleable though it can be done but not so effectively.

You want to wet (case) the leather then press the design in with a embossing tool (small metal ball on a stick) or an old biro etc

Another option would to emboss a separate bit of leather and sew it on as a 'badge'

Wilderbeast

Dec 9, 2008
Essex-Cardiff
Depends on the leather Will. For a decent emboss you need it to be veg tanned as chrome tanned leather is 'hard' and not easily malleable though it can be done but not so effectively.

You want to wet (case) the leather then press the design in with a embossing tool (small metal ball on a stick) or an old biro etc

Another option would to emboss a separate bit of leather and sew it on as a 'badge'

Ah now that's not a bad Idea, I could commission some leather elipses then have them stuck over the places I want them!

g4ghb

Sep 21, 2005
Wiltshire
How thick is the leather on your bags? - the 'patches' could be pre punched for stitching which would be a better way of fixing in my view.

g4ghb

Sep 21, 2005
Wiltshire
Looks like it's screaming for a oval 'patch' on the buckles strap flap if that makes sense, can't think of a better way to describe it but you get the idea I'm sure.

This way it can be made separately and then stitched on by you - no need to worry too much about the stitching side.... it's more the case of dot-to-dot!

Wilderbeast

Dec 9, 2008
Essex-Cardiff