Leather belt pouch (with stamping)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
(Please excuse my bad english :eek:)

Good evening, long time no see,

I want to show you the new belt pouch I just made. It's my first try in leather stamping although I worked with leather very often. The leather I used is oak tanned with a thickness of about 2 mm.

First you need a pattern, I have chosen the emblem of our german bushcraftportal: a squirrel with a figure eight knot with some celtic knot pattern around and two triskells. I directly cutted out the leather for to see the final result:

Projekt: punzierte Gürteltasche von wildhog9910 auf Flickr

I traced the pattern onto a transparent sheet:

The leather has to be a little moist, so the outlines could better traced with the ballpen. After that, the leather must dry, so you can cut the surface much easier:

The outlines are cutted onto the surface with the swivel knife. It will also worc with a small knife or a scalpel, but with a swivel knife its much easier and you can cut tighter radiuses:

Heres a little mistake I made: I used the same tool for tightening the outlines then for tracing, and had a bit of colour on it. So the colour is now on the leather surface:

Are all outlines cutted in, the leather has to be moistured for stamping from both sides. I guess I overacted it an it became too wet. If the leather ist too wet, the stampings will not last for a longer time.

The outlines where opened with an stitching awl:

The I have done the leather embossing with different tools. For the flap I didnt use any special stamping tools, just the modelling tool:

Even screwdrivers or similar tools are suitable for leatherstamping