hiking, camping, & survival

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Oct 15, 2022
United states
I am planning a trip in March to Scotland to do some hiking and survival camping. This will be my first survival journey all by myself and I could use some advice. I am a bit nervous but I want to do mostly outdoor, remote as possible and maybe a few days in various bothies. Any advice? I am VERY new to this.

Wander

Native
Jan 6, 2017
Here There & Everywhere
Since you are VERY new to this, a few key points to keep in mind.

First and foremost, it will be for real and you will not be roleplaying an imaginary character in your head any more.

Second, accept that whilst you are learning some things will go wrong and not be how you thought/hoped they would be. You will have some cold and wet nights. You will have some rotten night's sleep. You will get tired and struggle as you work things out. This is normal.

Third, don't go too remote to start with. Because if you are having a horrid time (and you absolutely may, to start with) you will be a short walk from comfort and civilisation. March time in Scotland can still bring some challenging weather, possibly too challenging for someone VERY new to this, so being within a short walk of somewhere safe is a wise thing to do. Once you've got a few trips under your belt (or sporran) then go remote.

Fourth, all the decisions you make will be down to you and you will have to take responsibility for them. Don't become a statistic.

gra_farmer

Mar 29, 2016
Kent
Although said, planning is key. Have aims / locations to get to, know where help / hospitals are, and how to get there.