Help needed with rations packs

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BushTucker

Settler
Feb 3, 2007
Weymouth
Hi all

I wonder if anyone can help me here?, I was in my local kit shop and saw the ration packs like I use to use years ago, the date on the box said c/06/03.

I take it this is a date but an expirary? or manufacture/packing date?

I have read that the shelf life for these things is about 3 years, so if it was a packing date then its surely expired.

Im confused please help

Thanks

Don

scanker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Cardiff, South Wales
I think it's a packing date, but thought the shelf life was longer than 3 years. I think it depends greatly on storage conditions. I'll try and find out.

Thorfinn

Tenderfoot
Dec 15, 2006
West Lothian
When i was in the cadets as an instructor, i had been issued rations very similar to your ones in date. I've eatin them the kids ate them and we were fine. I think it is the packing date.

addyb

Native
Jul 2, 2005
Vancouver Island, Canada.
I'm quite that the rations will last a lot longer than the military says their shelf life is. I can remember reading a vietnam war memoir once where the author describribed eating a ration that dated back from the second world war. Was he sick? No? Dead? Obviously not as he wrote the book. Can't for the life of me remember the title of it though.

I still have CF aircrew survival rations dated 1997. That's ten years ago. If I ate them, will they kill me? Probably not!

Cheers,

Adam

SunDog

Forager
Oct 14, 2005
South Coast
Agile mate don't worry, you've eaten 15 year old MOD rations before and you're still around.
:) Only joking.