Planning Hammock Camping in Cotswolds

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Apr 5, 2020
Worcestershire
Hi All,

I am very new to hammock camping I have done a bit in Scotland and Alberta (Canada) whilst paddling but I have done nothing around home.

So the question is are there any good spots to pitch a hammock and sleep for the night in the North Cotswolds? (obvious it is for after lockdown). Also on the back of this is there any hints and tips or anything I should be mindful before heading out?

Thank you

Bealach95

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
Welcome to the forum.

Sorry, don't know the camping potential of the Cotswolds. Typically hammock camping isn't easy in the UK, most places that you can hang a hammock require land owner permission and are not campsites while the official camp sites are most frequently fields suitable for tents and caravans. I have been looking at stands, like the Turtle dog, or tensahedron, but while they work, they miss part of the fun of setting up among trees.

The question about hints and tips is a bit open ended. You say you have camped a bit in Scotland and Alberta, but nothing about how long or how many such trips, what gear you have, or whether the advice needed is along the lines of "don't pitch across mountain bike trails" vs "how do you stop water running down your suspension lines?"

Tell us a bit more about yourself and you will get much better quality answers :)

All the best

Chris

Apr 5, 2020
Worcestershire
Thank you and thank you for your reply.

That is not so good at all within the UK- I thought it would be much like Canada find trees and pitch but if you are in a national park just have to be careful of Park Law Enforcement.